top of page

Scholarships are awarded annually to graduating high school seniors and undergraduate and graduate students studying in a variety of fields who demonstrate financial need. Scholarships are available to students of all backgrounds who attend nationally accredited institutions.  

Scholarship awards range in amount and are one-time awards. However, recipients are eligible to reapply each year through degree completion. 

The 2024 scholarship period is now open and closes May 1st.

Click here to apply.



Applicants for awards must be incoming freshmen, continuing and/or transfer students at an accredited 2-year or 4-year institution in the United States. They must be planning to enroll in undergraduate or graduate courses of study. The minimum cumulative G.P.A. for a scholarship award is 2.5. Recipients will be selected on the basis of financial need, academic and personal merit, as well as demonstrated involvement within their respective community.

Application Procedure and Time Period
Interested applicants may apply by completing the online scholarship application available on this site. Once the Board of Directors has concluded the application process and selected the scholarship recipients for the upcoming academic year, all applicants will be notified of the outcome via e-mail. Selected recipients will be notified in August. 


Terms of Disbursement

Awards will be disbursed no later than December 31st to the institution of each scholar.


The Board of Directors selects the scholarship recipients. The committee ranks applicants according to a combination of academic promise, financial need, receipt or potential receipt of other scholarships, and other student financial aid.

Amount of Award
Scholarship awards range from $500 - $2,000 and are finalized before the new academic year starts. 


Renewal Process
A Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority National Education Fund, Inc.. scholarship award does not automatically renew. Each candidate must complete a new scholarship application every year to be considered for an award. Past scholarship recipients are not guaranteed an award. However, prior scholarship recipients are given additional consideration if they have improved or excelled academically, continue to demonstrate financial need, and apply during the application period.

For More Information or Questions

Please contact the Scholarship Chair at with the subject "Scholarship Application Question."

2023 Scholarship Recipients

Seven Founders Scholarship

Scholarship Name
Seven Founders Scholarship
Abisola Abina
Penn State
Seven Founders Scholarship
Beyonce Hernandez
Texas A&M
Seven Founders Scholarship
Kyla Gerhardt
Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville
Seven Founders Scholarship
Blake Gerald
College of Charleston
Seven Founders Scholarship
Shaunterel Gee
Texas Tech University
Seven Founders Scholarship
Giselle Coley
University of California, Riverside
Seven Founders Scholarship
Karizma Harris
Alabama A&M Univeristy

NEF Life Member Legacy Scholarship

Scholarship Name
Evelyn Hawkins Hood
Kessiah Meeks
Arizona State University
Nadine Nolen Dillanado
Armani Clark
Georgia Southern University

NEF Scholarships

Scholarship Name
NEF General
Tiara Luckey
Lamar Univeristy
NEF General
Ty Smith
Harris Stowe State University
NEF General
Alyssa Wafford
Alabama A&M Univeristy
NEF General
Aiyana Shelton
Austin Peay University
Rebuen T. Bussey, Equire
Amaya Johnson
Howard Univeristy
Philo Sallie A. Williams
Iysis Alexander
University of Louisville

Donor Scholarships

Scholarship Name
Jennifer Lauren Wheatley
Shamea Hardy
Arizona State University
LoVette Hood, Jr,
Elise Moore
Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
LoVette Hood, Jr,
Gabriel McCendon
Tuskegee University

Regional Scholarships

Scholarship Name
Central - Beatrice Fox
Nariah Swilas
Cleveland State University
Southwest - Lizzie B. Miller
Asia Sims
Southeastern Louisiana University

Centennial Scholarships (Spring Semester 2023)

Scholarship Name
Bonita M. Herring
Joy Ayinde
Capital University
Annie Lee Whitehead Neville
Katherin Balion
Univeristy of North Carolina Chapel Hill
Dr. Lorraine A. Williams
Noelle Blake
Dartmouth College
Ethel Ross Smith
Titus Hunter
Texas Christian University
Edythe Roache Walker
Kameron Jackson
Concordia University Chicago
Sallie Edwards Johnson
Jordan McCrary
Florida A&M
Helen J. Owens
William Acquah
Georgia State University
Evelyn H. Hood
Michelle Adutwum
John Hopkins
Dr. Mynora J. Bryant
Mary Bankhead Sheets
University of Arizona
Bertha Black Rhoda
Mailiyah Beckwith
Western Kentucky University
Dr. Lorraine A. Williams
Kiera Buckley
Howard University
Dr. LaRona J. Morris
Janiya Chapman
Texas Southern University
Dr. Anne Lawrence Brown
Maya Coumpy
Texas Womens Univerisity
Rejesta V. Perry
Angel Edwards
University of Michigan
Fannie O'Bannon
Diontae Farrow
University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Dr. Cleo Surry Higgins
Jocha Gordon
Northcentral University
Mary Lou Allison Gardner Little
Loretta Harrison
Bowie State University
Edith Marlone Ward
Kayla Hawkins
Salus University
Rasheeda S. Liberty
Duane Hercules Jr.
San Francisco State University
Edna Douglas
Kamari Marzette
University of Alabama Birmingham
Joann Loveless
Ravin McDowell
Hampton University
Corine J. Green
Gracie-Paula S. Siaw Osborne
University of Californa, Berkeley
Dr. Alice M. Swain
Mia Robertson
Baylor University
Deborah Catchings-Smith
Skye Walker
North Carolina A&T State University
Dr. Katie K. White
Whitney Willis
North Carolina A&T State University
bottom of page